Wk 1 Artist Interview: Brianna Allen

Image

Brianna is a 29 year-old LA resident who has been pursuing art ever since her grandfather inspired her to do so when she was 6. She claims to have just completed this piece moments before opening the gallery, and I don’t quite understand that. But I can understand procrastination, not to assume the worst of her.

It’s an interesting piece, she’s been collecting bread tags for an entire year, either from her own loaves of bread or donated tags. Then she arranged them in order creating a weird sort of graph that shows bread consumption over the course of the year. At least that’s how I read it. I found it interesting to note what time frames she had more tags for and what time frames were severely lacking. I tried to form some hypotheses about what could cause the fluctuation of bread usage, but I couldn’t come up with anything.

Wow maybe I overthought this

Leave a Reply

